The novel Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin has a non-linear structure. The narrative switches between two timelines, jumping backwards and forwards in time until the two timelines meet at the same point in time in chapter 11. The novel includes a total of 19 chapters

The story begins in medias res on the day Larry gets stabbed. From then, the novel switches between chapters focused on Silas, which show the present timeline, and chapters focused on Larry, which show different moments from his past, until they reach the present timeline when Larry wakes up in the hospital. The alternate chapters with different timelines help to provide further information on the characters and a wider context for the main events of the book. 

Apart from the chapters set ...

The text shown above is just an extract. Only members can read the full content.

Get access to the full Study Guide.

As a member of, you get access to all of the content.

Sign up now

Already a member? Log in