“The Declaration of Independence” is a legal document which was read and adopted during the Second Continental American Congress on 4th of July, 1776. The text was sent to print the same day and was distributed in the American colonies as well to European states.

The writing of “The Declaration of Independence” had been commissioned a month before it was released. It was written by the Committee of Five, but its main author was Thomas Jefferson.

To understand the circumstances in which the document was written, you should know that at that time the American Revolutionary War had already been ongoing for about a year. As the thirteen North American colonies felt they were being taxed without being represented in the British Parliament, they started boycotting products coming from Great Britain.

Gradually, this escalated into open military conflict between the Br...

The text shown above is just an extract. Only members can read the full content.

Get access to the full Study Guide.

As a member of, you get access to all of the content.

Sign up now

Already a member? Log in